Accepting the challenges in creating a gluten free household

Orange Date Muffins

It was my plan to post many links to other good blogs, and I will still be doing that.  The best muffins I’d had before today are the ones from http://glutenfreegirl.com/gluten-free-whole-grain-muffins/.  I wondered, though, if I followed her principle of baking with a scale rather than measuring cups, could I convert one of our family favorites – Orange Date Muffins?  Yup!  Shauna Ahern is a genious.  It worked.  I did convert the flour measurements to cups because it depends totally on which flours you use.  I used a variety, based on two different mixes.  The first mix is from another of my favorite gf sites: http://www.thebakingbeauties.com/
It is simply 4 cups brown rice flour, 1 1/3 cup potato starch (not potato flour), and 2/3 cup tapioca starch.  The second you will have to get from the first site I mentioned since it is too complicated to mention here.  But it’s good and it’s good for you.  So mix some mixes and get baking.

Orange & Date Muffins – GF

 1 med-large orange
½ cup orange juice (freshly squeezed is best)
½ cup chopped dates
1 egg
½ cup margarine (room temp)**
125 g all purpose gf flour
60 g multi grain gf flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
½ – ¾ c brown sugar
¾ tsp salt

 Cut orange in 1/8’s, remove seeds and put in blender (with peel).  Add orange juice and dates.  Blend until liquefied.  Add egg and margarine; blend again.
Mix dry ingredients in medium bowl.  Add liquid from blender and stir to blend.  Spoon into muffin tins.  Bake at 400 F for 12 minutes.  Makes 1 dozen.

** The margarine makes the liquid quite thick, and since I always like to cut down the fat content if I can, I used ¼ cup olive oil and ¼ cup buttermilk instead.

The verdict… as good as the flour version.  Yum!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

