Accepting the challenges in creating a gluten free household

Dinner Rolls

While I try to bake with whole grains as much as possible, I’m having almost as many failures as successes these days, so when I saw this recipe, I thought I would try it as printed. Even though my husband isn’t a big bread eater, once in a while, we crave what everyone else can enjoy. They did not disappoint. Test one: warm from the oven. My husband’s enthusiastic, “These are good!” would have been enough. Test two: reheating slightly in the microwave to serve my grown kids (who are not gf unless they come home), and they were also thrilled to have good dinner rolls with the soup I made. Test three: the next morning. Reheated again in the microwave (just slightly) and we enjoyed them once more without any unpleasant gf texture or taste that we have come to know too well.

http://simplygluten-free.com/blog/2011/11/gluten-free-dairy-free-soft-dinner-rolls-recipe.html

* I did not have the Asian flours, so just used the rice flour I had. I used Almond Milk in place of Rice Milk… because that is what I had on hand.

The author has wonderful explanations of why she used the ingredients she did, so I found that quite helpful as well.

Comments on: "Dinner Rolls" (2)

  1. I’ve pretty much stopped using white rice flour becaue of the texture so I was VERY interested to read your comments on the taste! I’m adding amaranth flour to most light colored baking. It has a delicate golden color that adds a lot to the appearance.

    • I’m trying so many different flours, Brenda, that I can’t keep track of which ones I like and which ones I don’t… or rather where I like one and not another!! I will have to try amaranth. I think I’ve used it in a mix, but never alone.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

