Accepting the challenges in creating a gluten free household

Low Fat Apricot Cake

I googled ‘gluten-free apricot cake’ the other day. I love apricots, and had a box to use up. I will make freezer jam yet, but for the weekend, I wanted a cake. I found this recipe. YUM!! It is obviously not an American recipe, since it’s all measured by weight, and I thought I’d have to make it again and figure out the measurements for my local friends, but really, if you don’t have a kitchen scale yet, and you’re trying to bake gluten-free, just get one!! You can convert many of your own recipes if you use weights to do so.

Here’s the link: http://eggscreamandhoney.com/2010/07/06/low-fat-gluten-free-apricot-cake/

I’m also posting the ingredients with my own notes, though you will need to go to her blog for the directions.   Another of her recipes I will try one day: http://eggscreamandhoney.com/2010/02/03/beetroot-and-baking/

Ingredients

3 medium eggs
180g castor sugar (used white granulated sugar)
200g peeled and finely grated carrot
1 tsp almond essence (flavoring)
60g rice flour (my whole-grain gf flour mix)
200g ground almonds
2 tsp mixed spice (I googled this and mixed my own, then discovered I could probably have used pumpkin pie spice.)
2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
6-8 ripe apricots pitted and cut in half

The directions are at the link above.

I couldn’t wait to post this one because today is my sister’s birthday, and she is living gluten-free these days. And we all love low-fat… when it tastes this good. We had it with a bit of ice-cream initially, but I made some custard to have with the leftover cold pieces. I’m not sure it would need custard, but we love anything dairy for dessert or with our dessert. Enjoy!

Comments on: "Low Fat Apricot Cake" (1)

  1. Priscilla M. Koop said:

    Thanks for this birthday gift, Debbie! I can hardly wait to try it.

Leave a Reply

