Accepting the challenges in creating a gluten free household

Brown Bread

Brown Bread

I have had too many failures lately.  So when I found this recipe again with the notation “good” from 2009, I knew I had to try it again.  When it was cooling in the kitchen my hubby realized the house was smelling real good.  I picked up my cooled bread and showed him… “What’s wrong with this!!”  (It wasn’t really a question… rather an exclamation that I finally had bread that looked and smelled like bread again.)  He only heard the question, and, of course, needed to answer.  Not wanting to appear to be ignorant, he guessed, “It’s too brown?”  I shouldn’t have asked…  I sighed.  “Look, it didn’t fall, it looks and smells like bread!!  He agreed and was happy to help me out by taste testing.  It passed.The recipe is adapted from 125 Best Gluten-Free Recipes by Donna Washburn and Heather Butt.

1¼ cups brown rice flour
½ cup sorghum flour
½ cup cornstarch
½ cup rice bran
1 tbsp xanthan gum
1 tbsp bread machine or instant yeast
1 ¼ tsp salt
1 cup warmed water or milk (I used almond milk)
1 tsp cider vinegar
2 tbsp Olive oil
2 tsp liquid honey
2 tbsp fancy molasses
3 eggs

In a large bowl or plastic bag, combine all dry ingredients.  Mix well and set aside.
In your mixer bowl, combine all liquids with paddle attachment.
With the mixer on lowest speed, slowly add the dry ingredients to the honey mixture until combined.  With a rubber spatula, scrape the bottom and sides of the bowl.  With the mixer on medium speed, beat for 4 minutes.


Spoon into prepared pan.  Let rise, uncovered, in a warm, draft-free place for 60 – 75 minutes or until the dough has risen to the top of the pan.  Meanwhile, preheat oven to 350 F.  Bake for 35-45 minutes or until the loaf sounds hollow when tapped on the bottom.

Leave a Reply

