Accepting the challenges in creating a gluten free household

Double Chocolate Cookies

The original recipe for these cookies (from the lady who gave me the recipe) was Cow Pie Cookies.  Had to drop that name.  When she brought these ‘Cow Pie Cookies’ to work one day many, many years ago, I was afraid to try them.  The name may have been one issue.  The other was that my friend was NOT domestic.  Not at all!  I was a “Stay-at-h0me-mom-wannabe’.  She thought I was crazy.  But I had to be polite.  So I tried her cookies.  I’ve been making them ever since.  At least until we went GF.  Oh how I missed those cookies.

I took a long time to finally try to convert the recipe.  I didn’t want to make it too complicated, so I decided to try just substituting the flour with a commercial GF all-purpose flour from Bulk Barn.  It worked.  I did add a wee bit of xanthan gum according to the directions on the flour bag.  They were soooo yummy hot out of the oven. And they were still soooo yummy the next day when I took them to work to share with a friend.  We agreed that there was no way anyone could tell they were GF.  Here’s the recipe:

Double Chocolate Cookies – GF

A.
1 cup margarine
1 cup white sugar
1 cup brown sugar
½ tsp salt
2 tsp vanilla

B.
2/3 cup cocoa
2 large eggs
1 tsp baking soda

C.
½ tsp xanthan gum
2 cups gluten free all purpose flour
2 cups chopped chocolate bars or chocolate chips

In a large bowl, combine A ingredients.  Cream until fluffy.  Beat in B ingredients. Stir in C and mix well.  Using 1 Tbsp dough for each cookie, shape dough into balls.  Press down slightly.  Bake at 325 for 8-10 minutes.  Do not overbake.  (Smaller cookies may be done quicker.)

DO NOT OVERBAKE!

DO NOT OVERBAKE!

Seriously.  They can look a little wet in the cracks.  I think that’s the secret to making these cookies ‘to die for.’

Leave a Reply

