Accepting the challenges in creating a gluten free household

Pinned

Years ago I joined Facebook. It was a way to connect with family members, and friends past and present. Since we’ve moved a few times in our lives, those connections meant a lot to me. However, one of my daughters refused to join Facebook, so it took a bit of effort on my part to remember to post photos where she could also access them. She did reluctantly join Facebook recently when she discovered that a group she was a part of, posted everything on Facebook, and without it, she was out of the loop.

Then I joined Pinterest… mostly out of curiosity. The more I used it, the more it made me think of this daughter of mine, and I mentioned it to her a few times, and finally showed her the interesting pins I was seeing. She joined. She’s hooked. Pinterest is nothing like Facebook, actually, except that you have to join something online. And you do choose your community. But unlike Facebook, Pinterest is actually useful. There are links to useful creative ideas such as organization, photography, and recipes to name a few. (Or rather, to name most of what I look at…) I’ve chosen boards that I want to see regularly because they are my friends. Or because they seem to like the same things I do. Or because they collect gluten free recipes…

I will often check Pinterest for inspiration on what to make for dinner. I couldn’t count the number of recipes I have tried from there. So maybe I need to pass on a few of my favorites to you. And even mention a few that weren’t so good… but I tried them.

So if you’re interested, read on…

Sloppy Joes: http://www.mommymoment.ca/2012/08/sloppy-joes-recipe.html
I have made Sloppy Joes for years, but this recipe jumped out at me just as I was thinking that I had too much ground beef in my freezer, and what would I do with all of it!!! As usual, I changed a few things… it doesn’t have to be kid-friendly at my house most of the time, so I added real onions and garlic rather than the powder. It was yummy. Next time I’ll try Jeanine’s gluten-free buns as well. They also look very good.
http://www.thebakingbeauties.com/2012/08/gluten-free-buns.html

Then there is the Best Recipe I Ever Messed Up! Truly! http://amy-newnostalgia.blogspot.ca/2010/05/best-recipe-ive-ever-messed-up.html
I cut it into 1 1/2 inch squares and took a piece with me to work every day while they lasted! Soooo very good!

I’ll post more of my pinned successes soon…

Leave a Reply

